Into the Weekend

Probably my favorite picture of me and my dad

With Father’s Day on the horizon, I can tell you it won’t be a weekend of rest and relaxation.

The Renegades are playing tomorrow night and are giving away a replica 1994 jersey. You know what? I want one so I bought myself (and, yes, Sean) really inexpensive tickets because I thought that was how it worked. I mean, we don’t get such things just because we work for the team.

Oh, and I’m not working tomorrow. Sean is but I’m not.

Anyway, I got (politely) chided for buying the tickets. No, I wasn’t going to get any special favors but there could have been a way around my spending the money.

Well, I’ll tell you what. Buy me dinner or a beverage and we’ll call it even (I’m kidding).

It will be different to be a fan but I’ll likely hang out and have fun with everyone.

Oh, and I’m going back on Sunday because Sean is working and we have plans after the game for Father’s Day.

So, yeah.

Beyond that, I’m trying to slot in time to drive up to Oxford, CT to see the field and press box where I will be calling baseball again in a few weeks. I just want to get a sense of it, check the cell service, and see what the view will be like.

I’d like to see where I’ll be working in Trumbull as well. I’ll get some baseball calls back in my life in July and that will feel fine.

Oh, and Chris Erway and family are having a tag sale tomorrow. I mean, I have to stop by if I can! You might have heard I have an apartment to move into soon.

Then there’s “Meet the Beatles” on Sunday to start Father’s Day.

So, again, we’ll be buzzing.

I’m not quite sure why it was hitting me today but I found myself talking about my dad and, obviously, missing him. Sure, it’s Father’s Day weekend so I guess that’s it.

I even — for the first time in a while — was convinced to play the live version of “Free Bird,” which he loved.

I remember him telling me back in the 80s that it was a song he’d want played at his funeral. I mean, he didn’t know he was going to die in 1989 so it was sort of a dark thing to think about.

Anyway, after he died, I remembered it, wondering just how I could ever thread that into his funeral. If it was played at the gathering after the burial, I don’t recall it. It strikes me that it would be the kind of thing I would have played after everyone had left, when finally alone in my room.

Honestly, those memories aren’t clear.

But I do remember that I delivered one of the eulogies that day. While considering a quote to use, I came up with the opening lines of “Free Bird.”

If I leave here tomorrow
Would you still remember me?
For I must be traveling on now
‘Cause there’s too many places I’ve got to see

I vaguely recall a few curious looks but I explained how he loved the song.

Thus, it was referenced at his funeral.

I haven’t gone back to the song too many times since then. I’ve never shied away from it when it’s been played but, at the same time, I haven’t reached for it either.

However, I didn’t stay for Lynyrd Skynyrd when they played the Greenwich Town Party a few years ago. I was tired and, well, it was also a far cry from the band that recorded the song in 1973. Of course, members of the band — including lead singer Ronnie Van Zant — died in a plane crash in Oct 1977.

Of course, “Free Bird” has also become a bit of a parody over the years, thanks to the live version, in which the crowd implores the band to “DO ‘FREE BIRD.'” I’m as guilty as anyone, having said the words many times and many events.

But, after some thought, I brought myself to PLAY “FREE BIRD” today and I’m glad I did. I’m always glad to talk about Robert Sr., especially explaining him to Sean and others who never met him.

It’s been thirty-five years since we lost him and it’s still difficult. I tell friends when they suffer a loss that it’s important to hold the memories close but make sure to keep moving forward.

I think about my dad every day.

But some days are harder than others.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close