Wackadoodle Doo

CITYPARK, St. Louis (Photo: HOK)

So Joey Zanaboni, radio broadcaster for St. Louis City SC, got some attention for another one of his “wacky calls.”

Awful Announcing posted the call on their page, embedding the tweet on their page.

“Bürki gets fingertips, back to a header from Hagglund,” an excited Zanaboni exclaimed. “Oh. Roman Bürki. Slapping cuffs on that thing like it’s Scottie Scheffler trying to make a tee time.”

I mean, OK. You all know that is not my style but I’ve also noted that if Zanaboni’s stuff is suited for anything, it’s MLS. Or a local comedy club.

There was some pushback on the call, with one responder saying Joey is trying too hard but it simply is, well, what it is. I still wonder what the reaction would be if he were to get to MLB or another league with huge ratings.

The reactions, in my opinion, would be Gus Johnson-esque with very polarizing responses. There is a certain cult that Zanaboni has attracted, including those who used to mock him.

Joey will soon do another Major League Baseball broadcast via Twitch. Illegally, I might add.

I digress.

What intrigued me most of all was a retweet from Jaden Daly on X/Twitter, who wrote:

“To every up-and-coming and/or struggling play-by-player out there, I remind you not to give up on your dream or your passion, because as long as people like this have a job, there truly is hope for anyone.”

Bingo. I mean, seriously, bingo.

I get disheartened. A lot.

This business — heck, any business — can wear you down with rejection and inequity.

In those moments, it’s easy to question yourself. I begin questioning my talent, knowledge, preparation, effort, everything.

I see who gets the jobs and it makes me insane.

Connecticut, especially, is mind-blowing. High school. College. Whatever.

I ask too many times how someone got the gig that they have.

Too many times have I waded into something that I thought was a “no-brainer.”

“Oh, I should at least get an interview,” I foolishly think. And then nothing comes of it.

In truth, there’s no one reason.

Strong internal candidates, personality differences, lack of “experience,” and other things get held against a legit candidate and talent doesn’t win out.

Let me say that again: more often than not, it’s not about talent.

Let’s face it. It’s who you know. That person might even have an agent or an in with the hiring group.

But for those grinding, I echo the words to not give up.

I’d say I go through it several times a year where I just get so disgusted.

Once again I’ll likely go call state championship games in New Jersey as opposed to my own current home state.

So what, exactly, am I doing wrong here?

What are the pluses to me? I’d like to think it’s my knowledge, my passion, my descriptions, my dedication to a professional broadcast, and you better believe my preparation.

In addition to that and as part of that preparation is that I always have equipment with me and I’m usually ready for all situations, at least from an audio perspective. I made the investment in equipment in some cases and can usually borrow WGCH’s stuff if needed as well.

I also say yes to most games, even if it’s not my favorite sport. Not everyone does that.

I travel. Happily.

These are the things I advise newer broadcasters to do.

And so, yes, it’s that grind.

Nobody was going to do those FCIAC baseball games last night or tomorrow. WWPT Radio from Staples High School did their team’s game but, since they lost, they won’t be back tomorrow night.

So I’ll do the championship on Robcasting.

I reached out to the FCIAC and said I’d do the baseball tournament.

Someone was nice enough to buy me a small dinner.

That’s what I earned.

But it’s the grind.

It’s the knowledge that, when people think about broadcasters, there’s at least the chance that my name gets mentioned.

Good for Joey. He got the attention he pines for.

The grind continues around these parts.

Leave a comment

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close